About – Thetasigmaomega

Chapter History

In the Fall of 1966, a group of Alpha Kappa Alpha women met to make plans to initiate an Alumnae Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. in the city of Hattiesburg, MS.

These women launched a membership drive and sorors from Hattiesburg, Laurel, Tylertown and Columbia affiliated. The group of high spirited members sponsored many community service, fundraising, and social activities and events involving the communities represented by the members of the group. For two years, the group functioned under the title of “Women of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority” in order to facilitate the chartering of a local chapter.

On November 9, 1968 the Theta Sigma Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was chartered. Sixteen members were involved in making the chartering ceremony most impressive, beautiful, and forever memorable. Those recognized as charter members of Theta Sigma Omega are: Nina Arrington, Christine Cook, Dessie Easterling, Maxine Harkless, Maude Hudson, Ermine Johnson, Georgia Johnson, Lou Allen Johnson, Linda John, Ruby Magee, Betty Moore, Patricia Perryman, Dora Prater, Josephine Scott, Ruby Wilson, and Juruthin Woullard.

The Chapter's First Officers were:

President- Patricia Perryman
Vice President- Christine Cook
Secretary- Linda John
Corresponding Secretary- Dessie Easterling
Treasurer- Maude Hudson
Public Relations Officer- Nina Arrington
Chaplain- Betty Moore

In 1974, Theta Sigma Omega Chapter acted upon its vision to establish an undergraduate chapter on the campus of The University of Southern Mississippi. A year later that vision was realized as the Iota Kappa Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was chartered on April 12,1975.

2018 Chapter Officers

President– Deborah Gambrell Chambers

Vice President- Brenda Luethje

Secretary– Treenecia Garraway

Assistant Secretary– Adina Narcisse Green

Corresponding Secretary– Charlotte Gibbs-Williams

Treasurer- Carissa Bryant

Financial Secretary– Felecia Coleman

Hostess– Sarah Holloway

Door Keeper– Jessie Grant

Parliamentarian– Sheila Varnado

Reporter– Samone Wilson

Graduate Advisors– Emily Thompson,  Angela Bonner, Jeruthia Stepney

Historian– Debra Wallace

Chaplain– Deborah Hinton-Jackson

Sisterly Relations Chair– Alicea Hill

Nominating Chair– Leneatra Payton